Iggy Pop Details Post Pop Depression, Shares “Gardenia”

Iggy Pop Details Post Pop Depression, Shares "Gardenia"

Yesterday, Iggy Pop and Josh Homme (of Queens of the Stone Age and Eagles of Death Metal) announced a new collaborative album Post Pop Depression. Iggy Pop has now detailed the project, which is billed as an Iggy Pop album, produced by Homme. He’s shared the first single from the album, “Gardenia,” too. Listen to it and check out the tracklist below.

Post Pop Depression is out March 18 via Loma Vista/Concord. In addition to Homme’s involvement, Queens of the Stone Age’s Dean Fertita (also of the Dead Weather) plays guitars and keyboards on the album. Arctic Monkeys drummer Matt Helders also contributed to the record. Pop and Homme plan on taking the album on the road, where they’ll be accompanied by Fertita and Helders, plus QotSA’s Troy Van Leeuwen (guitar) and Chavez’s Matt Sweeney (bass).

In an interview with The New York Times, Homme revealed that it was “by a stroke of fate” that he didn’t perform with his other band Eagles of Death Metal at the Bataclan the night of the Paris attacks. He added that making Post Pop Depression helped him overcome the trauma of the event: “The fact that I had this to work on, it saved me,” he said.

Post Pop Depression:

01 Break Into Your Heart
02 Gardenia
03 American Valhalla
04 In the Lobby
05 Sunday
06 Vulture
07 German Days
08 Chocolate Drops
09 Paraguay

Watch Marc Maron talk about meeting Iggy Pop in an episode of Pitchfork.tv’s “Frames:

Comments are closed.